Request for your feedback

In the next edition of the book The Big Bang to Now, each chapter will close with a discussion of a question which science can’t always answer but which it poses for many people in the world today.

They are questions like:  Did God create the universe? is Intelligent Design a scientific theory?  can Darwin and the Bible both be right?  Is there a supernatural world that controls what happens in the natural world?

As the author, I have thought about many of these questions and have reached my own conclusions – sometimes different conclusions more often than once.   But the goal of these brief discussions is not to answer the questions or even to try to convince anyone that one answer is better than another.

Rather, what I am trying to do is to present an accurate and respectful introduction to many sides of the issues.  It is my experience that once I listen to a point of view that is different from my own, I still may not agree with it.  But often the other point of view is not nearly as irrational or stupid as I may have thought.

That  is why I try to make it a rule never to dismiss an idea unless the person with whom I disagree at least agrees that I understand accurately what he or she is saying.

And so I seek your comments on the issues which will be posted over the next six months.  In particular, I would like to know if you think the issue is presented accurately and fairly.  And if there is anything missing you would like to see added.

And of course, I would also like to know whether you find an approach like this helpful or a waste of time.

The issues will be posted in this blog in a separate category called “Questions beyond Science.”  To receive an email when a new post has been added, click the sign me up button in the right column.

Thank you for whatever thoughts you share.

Terry Herman Sissons

About Terry Sissons

Terry Sissons is the author of The Big Bang to Now: All of Time in Six Chunks, and this blog is a dialogue about the universe and what’s happened in the last 13 billions years.
This entry was posted in Questions beyond Science. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

